Open Nominations for District Representatives for HCGA’s 2020 Policy Committee

Every year HCGA members vote to elect five members of the policy committee divided by county electoral district. 

The Humboldt County Growers Alliance (HCGA) Governmental Affairs Program provides governmental relations, public policy, and advocacy activities on behalf of the plant-touching members of HCGA. The Government Affairs Program is directed by the Policy Committee, and implemented by HCGA staff members.

What: Open nomination period for the 2020 HCGA Government Affairs Policy Committee.

Who: All, current, Humboldt County licensed cannabis business members may apply.


Nomination period open January 9th through January 16thElection polls open from January 20th 6:00 AM to January 31st at 6:00 PM2020 Policy Committee Seated on February 3rd

Why: Represent and serve HCGA’s membership; and engage and impact state legislation, regulation and public policy. 


HCGA 2020 Policy Committee OPEN Nomination Form

Members need to apply for a seat based on the Humboldt County Supervisorial District in which their primary business is located (not their place of residence). 

HCGA uses secure online election software. Members will be emailed through that system when polls open.


Committee responsibilities include the following:

Attend weekly Industry Affairs Calls on Wednesdays at 9 AM via zoom/call inParticipate in, as needed, Policy Committee calls/meetings on Mondays at 9 AMVote to adopt policy strategic planVote on policy positions for the organizationSign the Policy Committee code of conduct, photo and bio submitted to staff for web page and social media efforts.

Election Logistics:

Yearly election

Unlimited terms


The entire HCGA membership is invited to participate in the weekly Industry Affairs calls on Wednesday at 9 AM where state policy positions will be openly discussed. Policy Committee members are required to participate in the weekly Industry Affairs call to gather input from the membership on issues to inform their decision making process. The Policy Committee the meets, as needed, once a week by conference/video call to vote on discussed policy issues and vote on position of the organization.

Any active/current, plant-touching member of HCGA may nominate themselves for the Policy Committee. Members need to apply for a seat based on the Supervisorial District in which their primary business is located (not their place of residence). 

The elected members of the Policy Committee represent the other business members within their district. 

In addition to the district election, please see the following appointments to the 2020 Policy Committee from the Board of Directors (incumbents noted with IC):

Board Member, Kaylie Saxon, Chairs the Policy Committee (IC)Board Member, Patrick Kanzler, appointed  – Gillian Levy- Humboldt Apothecary (IC)Board Member, Scott Vasterling, appointed– Nikolai Erickson- Full Moon FarmsBoard Member, Scott Davies, appointed– Alex Ozaki-McNeill-  Flower Co.Board Member, Kaylie Saxon, appointed– Natalia Craig-Smith- Alderpoint Holdings  (IC)Board Member, Aaron Lieberman, appointed– Nathan Voelckers-  Cache Farms